New here, a few questions, and saying hello!

bossesjoe

Howdy everyone, just stopping in to say hello and ask a few questions.

As in introduction, my name is Phil and I currently own a 1984 Corvette that is stripped to the frame and is becoming a dedicated track racer after I build myself a lighter aluminum engine. On the list of future projects that I'm going to try to snatch up are a track Mustang 5.0, Porsche 944 (951 or S2), a Miata, and a couple of more recent Corvettes.

So here are the questions for you guys.

1) I want to race. My car can be track legal with some work, but what do I need to get there? What do I need personally? Assuming I wanted to start out small, like doing time trials (nothing small about time trials, but you know what I mean). The car is getting a roll cage, required or not so that's already on the list. Do I need a license? I have some track experience, but am I ready as a driver?

2) I know there has to be some 944 guys here, and I'm excited. Any advice on building a track 944? It's the next car I want to buy if I can find a decent one because I'm absolutely obsessed with this car. 944S2? 951?

3) Any other advice for an-up-and-coming, young driver just getting into the sport?

before you drop any $ at all on a cage, read the rulebook's requirements. iirc you have to use .095" wall DOM mild steel, I can't remember if they've banned chromoly yet or not. Again, read the rulebook's exact requirements and follow them. It might not be required, but if you have it, it has to fit the rules. don't forget to make the instructor's side of the car just as safe while you're at it

I'd plan on doing some HPDE to get used to the car and tracks, and once you've done DE3 for a while you could be ready for Time Trials