Recommended Brake Pads for 1st HPDE?

geerookie

This is my first time ever at an HPDE. I finally got up the courage to go. I will be at Watkins Glen 5/7 - 5/8. I have a '99 C5 with stock motor & 6spd, 3.73 rearend, Nitto 555 tires, Pfadt Racing Sway bar, Koni FSD shocks. I am installing new NAPA rotors, DOT4 fluid but I'm not sure what pads I should install. I will be driving the car about 300 miles to and from the track for the HPDE. These pads and rotors are only for the HPDE. I have another set for daily driving. Any suggestions or opinions will be appreciated. I plan on doing about 4 or 5 more HPDE's this year if that makes a difference.

With a fast and heavy car like yours, I'd recommend race pads, at least on the front brakes. I'm not sure that street/track pads won't fade on you at the track during hard driving.

Have you considered just swapping pads at the track? A lot of guys do it.

As far as good race pads go, I'll list the usual suspects (and in no particular order):

1. Performance Friction 01

2. Porterfield R-4

3. Hawk blues

4. Carbotech XP10/12

I've used the first two with good results. I'm currently running the Performance Friction 01 pads on my Mustang track car and love them. They're not cheap but I've yet to experience any brake fade and they're easy to modulate.

Great question as I am in the same predicament.

I initially thought about going with the Hawk HPS pads as my car will be driven to the track. Upon thinking it more, I decided to swap out my pads at the event and go with Hawk Blues.

You may also think about changing your brake fluid to a higher boiling point fluid. CDOC has a great deal on the ATE Super bue which I am flushing my system with over the weekend.

cheers

Great question as I am in the same predicament.

I initially thought about going with the Hawk HPS pads as my car will be driven to the track. Upon thinking it more, I decided to swap out my pads at the event and go with Hawk Blues.