loss of brakes after track event

spunout50

Hi, I'm new to the Nasaforums so I probably should give a small introduction. I own a '86 Mustang GT convertible and live in Michigan. The car is slowly, but surely getting more prepared for road racing. I started attending open track events last year. I've retrofitted my car with cobra brakes all around and have done some suspension upgrades.

Last year I ran OEM brake pads. I knew they wouldn't be the best, but I didn't have the $$ for an upgrade. For this year I purchased some Cobalt friction road race pads. It was an amazing improvement at the track with these pads. The event went great and I drove home w/o any problems and parked the car. I went to take it for a spin on saturday and I had no brakes, the pedal went to the floor. I knew that I would need to bleed my brakes before another event, but I didn't expect this either. I flushed the fluid before the event and I use valvoline synthetic. It's got a relatively high dry boiling point for the price and avalability. I did bleed the brakes on sunday and everything seems to have returned to normal.

did I simply boil the brake fluid? If so, it appears I'll be moving to Motul or something similar. Is there something else it could be? There wasn't any fluid loss.

I tried performing some searches, but didn't pull up anything relevant.

Thanks,

Jeff

It sure sounds like you boiled the fluid. I used a '99 Mustang GT in my first on-track event, with Carbotech Panther+ pads, on a track that's not easy on brakes (Carolina Motorsports Park, Kershaw, SC). I was concerned about boiling the fluid so I put Motul RBF 600 in it before the event and didn't have any trouble at all. At the same event, my brother boiled the factory stock fluid in his Focus ZX3, but not badly and only in one corner. The symptoms were the same, but not as serious.

• Members