dog ring tranny?

Dawg

considering a dog-ring t-56.

will these things shift just just like a sycned trans. ( no rev matching?)

what might be a time improvement on a 1:36 track' like road atlanta?

appreciate the help!!!!!!!

AIX cars may use that transmission, if available under $6K. rule 7.9.3

So, if you're gonna run AIX....

However, depending on your engine package and overal car package... T-56 trannys are fairly heavy.

andy

7.9.2 AI cars must use synchromesh-type transmissions. Non-synchro transmissions such as Jericos are not allowed in AI.

So put synchros on the 1-2 shift and the rest are dogs..., besides, a t56 STARTED as a synchro type trans...

Dawg, to answer your question, we would need to know how many shifts you are making in 1:36... We have a track here in Texas that is a 1:24 track but I only shift 6 times...

Personally, I don't think you are going to gain enough to warrant the costs but I have been running a T56 from an 03 cobra for 3 years and have not even changed the fluid...Great trans and rock solid at our power levels. Yes they are heavy but I have seen guys go through T5's like mad and there are no special gears for 5th to get .80...AND they hold twice the fluid of most of the other trannies and should run cooler overall. Plus, if you ever decide to go hog wild and put mega HP in the car, you got the tranny to go...no problem. A shop I work with just finally found the limit of a T56 at 1060 rwhp when they "machined" the teeth of the input shaft! LOL!!!

7.9.2 AI cars must use synchromesh-type transmissions. Non-synchro transmissions such as Jericos are not allowed in AI.

So put synchros on the 1-2 shift and the rest are dogs..., besides, a t56 STARTED as a synchro type trans...

Dawg, to answer your question, we would need to know how many shifts you are making in 1:36... We have a track here in Texas that is a 1:24 track but I only shift 6 times...