Tires, what to run?

ryan325

I am going to be racing this year (assuming I pass comp, school in Feb.!) and I need to purchase some tires. I have been running Toyo RA1's and have no real complaints. What i'd like to know is what do you guys recommend? I am looking at getting Hoosier wets for running in the rain and can't decide what to run in the dry - thoughts? Of course price/durability is a factor. Any contingency programs worth looking into? Thanks for the input.

BTW anybody got any E36 M3 wheels for sale for my rain set?

1) are you planning on running dot's or slicks?

2) do you want a fast tire or a tire that lasts? (ie. do you want to compete with the front runners?)

if you're looking for slicks, i have very little experience with them...

if you want dot's and you want the fastest tire, your choices are hoosier (r6 or a6), bfg r1, hankook z214, and kuhmo (whatever model people run, lol)

i (obviously) have no experience with kuhmos but some folks have been successful on them...the hoosiers, kooks, and bfg's are all pretty close in speed...i personally run hankook z214 (c51 compound) and love them...from my experience, they are every bit as fast or faster than the hoosiers and bfg's, are more consistent throughout a race, and stay fast for more heat cycles...

for contigencies, hankook has a contingency program (i have heard that they might be increasing their payouts this year also)...i'm not aware of any contingencies from hoosier or bfg (and again, no idea about the kuhmos)

if you want a longer lasting, more economical tire and are less concerned with grip levels, toyo's are a great choice (supposedly the new 888 is a little faster than the ra1)...toyo only offers contigencies where their tire is the spec tire...

1. DOT's

2. Durability is more important than grip level at this point. When I get more race experience that will probably change but for now price and longevity are key.