pmcrespo

Buttonwillow

pmcrespo

Hi,

I will be visiting Buttonwillow (#13 CW) for the first time during the weekend of June 7-8.

Understaning the variables (driver, car, etc), how difficult is this track to learn and be reasonbly fast? Is it a very tricky technical track? How many hours of track time would you say a reasonably skilled driver needs to become "fluent" at BW?

I am a Northeast GTS rookie this year. Watkins Glen and Pocono Raceway (all configs) have been my "teeth cutting" tracks over the last year and a half.

Thanks,

Alonso

Well, last month I attended my first HPDE at Buttonwillow and in my rookie opinion most of the track was fairly easy to learn in the 4 sessions we had through the day. In fact by the third session I was confident enough to be on the track on my own, and by the fourth session I was flying around the track.

The only corner sections that I could not nail down seemed to be buttonhook which we were told at our HPDE downloads that its too technical of a corner to be worried about mastering it at our level (HPDE 1& 2). I also had trouble with the bus stop because I could not figure out how much or how little braking to do before turning in. At first I thought I was braking to much and felt that my exit speed wasn't fast enough, so the next time around I tried to simply lift but then I dropped a tire.

JoshC

My first time there was last October and I thought it was on the long side of typical in terms of learning time. It took 2 or 3 sessions to feel comfortable enough to race; having studied the track map and watched some in-car footage prior to going out.

mcolangelo2005

Welcome to the left coast!

Here's a well done instructional video on how to do Buttonwillow #1 CW: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=AejHQ6iV-F8"

Track configuration #1 CW is very similar to #13 CW except that #1 has the Star Mazda turn instead of the sweeper. Aside from that, everything else is the same.