simulated racing? online racing? how to get started?

Vroomgrrl

Hello my friends! I keep hearing that the skills developed with simulated or online racing transfer well to the track. HELLO STRINGER I heard you talk about this on blogtalkradio.com Tailgating show

I got no kids to show me the way. I got no xbox, no wii. I got a TV and a computer.

So what's up with all this? How does it work? How would a person get started? What kind of stuff do I need? I'm guessing a fancy steering wheel/pedal controller kind of thing? What does all this stuff cost? What would you recommend for a total beginner as a starting point in terms of hardware & everything else required?

Have at it. Help a noob out!

Thanks in advance!

Kathy

StraightSix

There are several PC race sims that are pretty good. Some of the big titles are rFactor, GTR Evolution, Race 07, and Live For Speed. The system requirements for each will be listed on the boxes, except for Live For Speed, which is a download. These can all be played online or offline.

Another one that is making some waves is iRacing. iRacing is a pay to play service, kind of like World of Warcraft. The client, rather the "game", can be downloaded from iRacing's web site. GRM had an article about iRacing a couple of months ago that covered the sim fairly well.

I play Live For Speed, and enjoy it a lot. I don't really have any first hand experience with rFactor, GTR, or Race '07. I like LFS's physics and it seems like it's the most true to life sim that I've played.

A wheel will help immeasurably in any driving game. Definitely get a force feedback wheel. I bought a Logitech Driving Force Pro right after Christmas and love it! Another popular choice is the Logitech G25, which is a fantastic mass produced wheel and largely considered the best widely available wheel.