What is the best "100% bone stock" HPDE car?

NVR2L8

I am new to the HPDE scene, ran my first 2 events last fall in my '09 Z06. As expected, I am hooked, and ready for the 2009 season. I plan on driving in at least 10 events.

My question: I am looking for a HPDE car for my 16 year old son. I am not highly mechanically inclined, but I can handle the basics (brake pads, fluids, etc.). I also live in a pretty rural area, not much access to speed shops or race car mechanics.

I do NOT want somebody else's heavily modified car that would take a genius to figure out, no matter how cheap the car is. Besides, my son needs "seat time", not HP or a perfectly tuned and prepped car.

I would like to know what would be the best "100% bone stock" car for my son for HPDE driving, something that will perform well right off of the lot. Now, I don't mind minor upgrades such as roll cage, seats, brakes, etc. Bottom line, I need a car that is very reliable and simple to work on by a generic shop (GM, Ford, etc.)

So far, I am considering the following:

1. 02-04 C5 Corvette

2. 2005 Mustang GT

3. Track prepped Miata (Planet Miata, etc.)

So, am I on the right track? All constructive input is appreciated. Thanks.

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• TurboShortBus

• mcmmotorsports

• kbrew8991

• NVR2L8

A 90's miata is cheap, bulletproof, and safe.

Great car to really learn momentum and driving, and if you make a mistake it one of the easiest cars to "catch".

Parts are dirt cheap and very available - intakes, headers, exhausts are everywhere. Upgrades are simple and have been tried and tested. The car has been around so long, everything is available

If you stick with spec miata sized wheels and tires, they can be had for cheap. 1000$ on a vette might get you tires. 1000$ on a miata and you can get R-comps, the wheels to put em on, and have money left over.