Toyo RA1 Age?

bmgmd

Hi All,

I'm new to NASA and this forum, but not to HPDE in other clubs.

I just bought a pair of RA1s for upcoming events, but I am wondering how old they might be.

They have never been mounted and have the labels still on them.

They are 225/50/16 BUT have a UTQG rating of 40, yes 40. Not 60, not 100.

Toyo's website states they are currently 100.

I know how to interpret production numbers on street tires using the last four digits imprinted after the "DOT" on the tire sidewall. For example, if it is "2608", it means the tires were made on the "26"th week of 20"08".

Does that hold true to the RA1s since production?

One of my tires have "DOT CX8J 2L1383" and the other has "DOT CX8J 2L1373".

Does that mean they were made on the 13th week of 1983 and the 13th week of 1973???

They look older, but I really don't know what 26-36 year old tires would look like!

Does anyone know what years the RA1s were UTQG 40?

When where they first made?

Thanks,

Brian

Hi All,

I'm new to NASA and this forum, but not to HPDE in other clubs.

I just bought a pair of RA1s for upcoming events, but I am wondering how old they might be.

They have never been mounted and have the labels still on them.

They are 225/50/16 BUT have a UTQG rating of 40, yes 40. Not 60, not 100.

Toyo's website states they are currently 100.

I know how to interpret production numbers on street tires using the last four digits imprinted after the "DOT" on the tire sidewall. For example, if it is "2608", it means the tires were made on the "26"th week of 20"08".

Does that hold true to the RA1s since production?

One of my tires have "DOT CX8J 2L1383" and the other has "DOT CX8J 2L1373".

Does that mean they were made on the 13th week of 1983 and the 13th week of 1973???

They look older, but I really don't know what 26-36 year old tires would look like!

Does anyone know what years the RA1s were UTQG 40?

When where they first made?

Thanks,

Brian