Racer from "Other" format seeking advice (SCCA or NASA)

digger1

I'm NOT new to racing but I am new to road racing. Combined, I have 28 years of racing experience (NHRA, AMA, APBRA, FTR, AHRA, NJGA). I've also spent years on a private Cart track running a 500cc shifter cart. But now that I'm financially ready, my long term desire to road race is soon to be a reality. So my question is which sanctioning body would better suit what I'm looking for? All the races I've been in were more or less spectator sports with exception of a few "club" events. There was alot of brotherhood and excitement knowing the weekend crowds were rooting for their favorites. We were truly rubbing elbows with the million dollar pro-teams but were all on the same playing field. The events were run the same for all competitors..same rules, same goals, same prizes/trophies. I've been to a few regional SCCA events and was shocked at the lack of enthusiasm. And the winners? Well, they just walked up to the local trophy guy, announced what place they finished in their class, and were handed a plaque. WOW! That was exciting... Don't get me wrong, I respect them and what they did for motor racing and I would like to enter some of their events, but I'm looking for something more. More venues, more series, more diversity, and more enthusiasm. I'm interested in regionals, nationals, special invitationals, series, and especially endurance races.

I've read the NASA CCR, SCCA GCR, and the USERA many times over trying to get a grasp on the different classes. I always built and modified my own cars (I'm an ex engine builder/fabricator) and have a need for speed. In SCCA I would be running a CSR/DSR car which I believe would cross class to a NASA SU and ESR in the endurance series.

Anyway, I have hundreds of questions, but the biggie is really NASA or SCCA?

Thanks in advance for ANY input.

This is kind of a biased place to ask...

Here's my take: