Any Advice for Instructor Clinic?

FTS

Hello All:

I signed up for one of the upcoming instructor clinics (level 1). I have never instructed before, this will be a trial for me to see if I am a good instructor candidate; I also have just over 40 DE days, which meets the minimum requirements, but not tremendous amount.

I would welcome any advice, input, warning, etc. as I get ready for this level 1 session. How can I make the most of it and what should I watch for.

Thank you all in advance.

-Come into the clinic well-rested. You'll be super busy, and will have very little time to rest.

-As with any weekend, stay hydrated and fed throughout the day. See above.

-Come prepared with writing stuff (pen/pencil/notebook).

-Keep an open mind. Some stuff might sound repetitive or hokey, but it is all useful and important.

-Pay SPECIAL attention to the part about getting into a collision while riding shotgun. No one wants it to happen, or really expects it to happen, but chances are reasonable that it will. The consequences of an event like that are pretty heavy, so you should be prepared.

-If it's possible to have some kind of "pit crew" for your car, that would be very helpful. Even just someone to have the car lined up at grid for you.

-Dig into the exercises, and try to get the most out of them, even if they are silly. Keep that in mind when you're supposed to be "acting".

-Don't be afraid to ask questions! No such thing as a stupid question there, especially in that company.

Sounds like you're off to a good start. The clinic is just the beginning

Practice withholding your inner school girl scream for the first time you know your student is going to drive off course before they do

One of mine just did it to me on Friday. Looking in the mirror to give a point-by and drove right off the edge of the track

Open mind is key. Willingness to learn is best.