4 Wheel Disc set up

Bearcatracing

To keep brake bias correct I was looking at installing 1 7/8" piston four piston calipers on a new rear end, and installing 2 1/8" four pistons on the front. (I already have the parts)

I'm no brake expert, but I've heard you can't run the same calipers front and rear due to bias issues even with a bias valve. Which I do have by the drivers seat.

Does anyone know if this type 4 wheel disc set up would work properly with the larger pistons up front? These are OEM 1968 GM 4 Piston Calipers on a 1968 Firebird.

Also, with 4 wheel disc, and calipers that big, what bore Master Cylinder might I need? Or use a twin MC Tilton type system?

The car weighs 3380 with fuel and driver.

The math to calculate that is more complicated than I want to go into tonight after several beers. But with a proportioning valve I really don't see why wouldn't be able to.

I have never worked with a car that has a drum rear setup. Sorry I'm a modern car guy. Do you have any idea what size the stock rear piston is on the drums? Give us that info. We have the stock front piston size and the proposed front and rear piston size. With all of that information it shouldn't be too hard to calculate the differences and see if it should cause you any problems. IIRC typically rear drum setups use a smaller master cylinder, so if you go to a rear disc setup you may need to upgrade the mc, but get the piston dimensions and you should be able to get a better idea.

Okay, I'm sitting here thinking about it. We also really need the size of the OEM drum pads, the OEM coefficient of friction, the proposed Cf. Well you see the issue. There are so many variables. The trick is that you can manage all of them to make the system balance.