$30k to spend. C5 Z06 or Panoz GTS?

sbarton

I'm currently a HPDE instructor in a 911, but looking to move to a higher HP car, with the ability to go racing later. Looking for a ST2/T1 C5 Z06 for around $30k or less. I see that you can get a Panoz GTS LS1 for around $27k.

1) Which car is better for the money?

2) Reliability?

3) Maintenance?

4) Consumables?

5) Can I get a quality race prepped C5 Z06 for under $30k?

6) Anything else?

-Scott

Edited by Guest

I'd likely update the LS1 to an LS6 in the Panoz. What class would a LS6 powerd Panoz GTS be in? How competative would it be? Weight of the Panoz with 200lb driver would be 2900lbs.

-Scott

still depends on the whp, tire choice (width and dot vs non-dot) and so forth.

competitive vs not depends on prep...

Well it's your lucky day... I have both... and I seriously considered one of the LS1 Panoz cars from Wirewheel. The Panoz is technically my father's, but we've shared it over the past 2.5 years and we prepped it around TTS/ST2 rules. I'm currently building a TTA C5 Z06 as well.

The Panoz we purchased was a GTRA w/ the red/white Penske paint job. We got it from Wirewheel back in October 2007. In modifying the car we did the following:

1. Suspension - Panoz GTS suspension w/o the fancy Penske shocks: 550/350 F/R springs, fresh Koni shocks, GTS rear swaybar, steel front swaybar end-blades, all new heim-joints all around, and a new allignment w/ revised ride hieght to GTS specs. Turned the car from a pushing pig driving school car into an awesome neutral car with slight over-steer.

2. Power - Kept the existing 302 in place, but converted to a Pro-Systems carb setup and went with AFR 165s and a custom Ed Curtis cam... also put fresh FRPP shorties on it and dumped the glasspacks for some quieter Flowmaster 50s. The car made 315 rwhp, but 2 weeks ago it made 341 corrected on a dynojet when getting re-tuned.... so I'm right at the ST2/TTS limit