Rule question

Walther

Gentlemen, (and Ladies??)

I am brand new to NASA and am jumping head first into AIX. I ran SCCA American Sedan for the past few years with some success and a good number of wins, but I have a number of personal issues with that class. In short; Great bunch of racers, but nonsensical rules -IMO. So here I am.

I am half way through changing my AS car (Fox Mustang) into an AIX car. I have fabricated my own SLA and custom K-member, and plan on fabricating a Satchell Link rear suspension to work in the chassis. I will probably debut/test the “new” chassis with my “old” AS power plant. I will most likely be grossly underpowered for AIX (at 342 rwhp) A big-inch, EFI Windsor is in the plans. Anyway; as part of my set-up, I am inputting different ride heights into my measurements. My unavoidable obstacle in lowering the ride height seems to be exhaust clearance under the car. Which brings me to my question;

Can a minimal section of the stock floor pan be channeled to allow exhaust clearance, provided I fabricate a sheet metal “tunnel” over it? Rule 7.3.e says it can, or does it? The rules do say that exhaust cannot pass through the firewall, and what I envision won’t violate that rule. I basically want to run the exhaust off of the collectors, and then up through the "plane" of the passenger side floor, running just above the floor and out through the body just in front of the RR tire. Is this permitted, or do I need to abandon the idea?

Any and all input would be appreciated.

Mark Walther

Mark-

Welcome to American Iron! I hope you will find what many of us have found and that is a very sensible set of rules and a GREAT bunch of people in NASA and American Iron. We try very hard to minimize changes and keep the rules simple and enforceable.