first DE1, overpowered car.

super_pablo_

Hello, Ive been checking out these forums recently and I wanted to introduce myself.

I drive a mazda mazdaspeed3 09 as a daily driver, and ever since I bought this car 1.5 years ago Ive been learning a lot about cars in general, from modding and tuning to basics of racing etc... Im still a big noob in most of it, but I have learned a lot as well. A couple of months ago I had my first track experience at arroyo seco raceway with some fellow mazda club members and I really enjoyed it. I was obviously pretty slow because it was my first day ever and I didnt wanna do anything that would put me or my daily driver in a dangerous situation. That said... I do feel I improved a lot by the end of the day, and since, Ive been planning on getting into some HPDE driving.

As I mentioned in the title, my speed3 is definitely not a slow car, Ive got almost all basic bolt ons and tune and a couple of weeks ago I dynoed at 304hp 331 tq. in a dynapack. Ive also done some minor suspension work, with lowering springs and a stiffer rear sway bar. I have some pretty nice tires (yokohama advan AD08 180 treadwear)... so... clearly this car is way over my limits.

I just wanted to ask people for any advice as well as introduce myself.

I know theres probably hundreds of "noobie here .. advice please" threads so, mainly I was just wondering what your thoughts were on my car considering I may only have basic driving skills. I consider myself pretty savvy compared to how I was 2 years ago, but compared to some of my buddies that track their cars... im a complete noob haha!... so, yeah.

Im excited to do this!

I did something very similar to you except more so and with a Honda. By the time I did my first track day I had swapped the motor and supercharged it and done some moderately extensive suspension work. I will tell you with no hesitation that the car scared me and that seriously hampered my learning to drive decently.