Noob

superfrog

Hi, I'm brand new to all of this. I would like to participate in HPDE1 coming up in my region next month. My DD is my lowly Honda Civic, would it be ok to just get a rental from somewhere like Hertz or something?

In the mean time I'll look for a dedicated car. Old e30 or something.

What is wrong with your DD, it will do fine on track. Save some money and use what you have.

Nothing is wrong with it. My only concern is that something might break or happen and I'm stuck without my car for a week. I could rent an Aveo for like $25 a day so it seemed like cheap insurance.

I appreciate your feedback!

I agree. Air up the tires to about 36psi to keep them from rolling over on the shoulders, make sure your brake pads are at least 3/4 material, no fluid leaks, and go.

You don't need anything special for your first event or two. Just a legal helmet, mechanically sound car, good brake pads and an OPEN MIND.

-Kevin

Take a look at some of the Honda Challenge race cars out there, even in the lower classes like H4. They're not slow Besides, a car with less horsepower forces you to learn to carry speed through the corners which is a good thing. So long as the car you have is safe and reliable it's plenty good enough for HPDE.

- KB, who races a car with a whopping ~120whp.

I will say the VW CC actually did look pretty good out at TWS. Whoever that looney was that was driving it

In all honesty the kinds of cars that are out there that aren't $texas/day to rent won't be much better than your Civic.

. I could rent an Aveo for like $25 a day so it seemed like cheap insurance.

I appreciate your feedback!