New to NASA and HPDE

cjdooley

Hello all,

I am just getting into NASA and HPDE but I am very excited! My car is a 2005 Mustang GT and I am in the Northern California Region. I would just like to know what is a typical weekend like? With the equipment that is and is not required what would you recommend? I am going to try and get out to one of the infineon events before the year is up even if its just to take in the sights

Make sure your car is safe and reliable and can pass a simple tech inspection..no loose batteries...no visible leaks of coolant and or oil etc.

You will also need a good helmet that has a current DOT /SNELL rating.

Make sure your tires are in decent shape and properly inflated. You will probabaly want to take a tire guage and maybe an air source ( portable tank) and extra gas.

Make sure if you don't have clear bra on your car that you take some painters tape or something simsilar to protect the leading edges of the hood, grill and headlight area...blue painters tape works well. Make sure NOTHING blocks your radiator open to cause an overheating issue.

Even in HPDE1 you are required to have a visible number at least 10 inches tall on each side of the car. Painters tape will work for this too.

LISTEN TO YOUR INSTRUCTOR!!

And prepare to have the time of your life and get hooked in a hurry!

I have only been to one HPDE1 event and next weekend will be my second! I am having a LOT of fun in MY mustang!

+1

Additionally, make sure you check your brake pads. If it were me, I would go ahead and order a new pair of front pads regardless of what your current pads look like and swap them in once I got to the track. If you want, you could swap them back out before you leave at the end of the weekend. And speaking of brakes, you might want to bring a wheel chock of some kind. Your brakes will be extremely hot when you come off course, so you want to avoid setting the parking brake until they cool off.