BMW 2002 Track Day Car?

n80

I've only done one track day and it was in my daily driver. But it was fun and I'd like to continue to do this and I'm fine just puttering around the track in my daily driver.

However, my brother-in-law has a '76 BMW 2002 in one of his barns. It looks like heck from the outside because it is under tons of dust but there is very little rust. None in the wheel wheels, floor pan, trunk or under the hood. He says it was running, but misfiring a bit, when he parked it there in 1986. The dash looks decent, the seats are trash. The clutch will not depress. It has the 4 speed tranny. He says he would sell it to me "cheap". The meaning of "cheap" is yet to be determined.

I'm just wondering what this car's potential would be as a track day car. Can in run in vintage events, etc? What kinds of expenses I might expect. Resources for fixing it up. I'm not a mechanic. I can do basic stuff like brakes, headers, adjusting valves and timing. But I cannot rebuild an engine, tranny or differential.

Any thoughts or tips would be appreciated.

Edit: To clarify, I'm not really looking to race or do TT, I'm mostly just wondering if this car would be a fun, fairly inexpensive track day car.

I will preface my comments with the fact that I know very little about the 2002. I am basing my comments on the fact that I do not recall having seen a singe one in nearly 5 years of regular track days with NASA.

The problem I think you are going to run into with a car like that is parts. I suspect they will not be easy to come by, or they will be expensive, or both. Stuff like that is always an issue when you run a not common car.