944 HPDE/TT set-up question

speedshopjones

I'm just getting started in NASA (but not HP driving) and my goal is to get to 944 Spec...eventually. In the mean time, I will be entering HPDE and TT with the 944. It is currently bone stock, but will be getting frt coil-over kit, 30mm rear torsion bars, frt & rr sway bar upgrades, etc. While it is an HPDE/TT car, it will still be a semi-dd. I'm curious about suggestions for front spring rates. I have read so many different opinions online, I'm dizzy.

I know once in Spec, most cars seem to run 350# - 400# springs. That would be a bit much for street use. So, I'm looking for a happy medium until then. BTW, I think I read that those upgrades will add so many points to the classification that my 944 won't be competitive in TT. However, my goal is to compete against myself and improve my skills as I slowly prep the car for Spec. (oh, Tires will be RA1s)

Thanks for any help. My first event will be in Pueblo, CO on April 14-15.

Welcome!

Lots of great racing in the RM region of 944 Spec.

My advice would be to leave the torsion bars & springs stock if you are going to be driving it on the street a lot. If you're only driving it a little, than put the full Spec suspension in.

30mm torsion bars have an effective spring rate around 350lbs/inch. Mixing 350lb rear spring rate with a 200-250lb/in streetable front spring rate will leave you with a very tail-happy, unbalanced car.

Put the Konis in either way.

I did HPDE in a 924S with stock springs, and Koni's for a year - it worked pretty well.

Thanks! You're right about the balance. I've never messed with torsion bar suspensions. I do need to get it lower, though. Looks like it's on stilts at factory ride height. The springs and bars aren't too pricey, so I might match up a set of 250lbs/in for HPDE/TT. I don't have to drive it on the street. I just like to. A lot.