Starting out in TTB- type of car

twt

So, I have done several track days "renting" a C5Z (and a SM)...I have some limited racing experience in an MX5 and had an SCCA racing license through Skippy. I am ready to buy my own car mostly for HPDE and move up to Time Trials at a later date. I like the C5 which has good support in Atlanta. I know that I am not fast (yet) and can not compete at the TTA level until I log many more miles of track time. I noticed that a base C5 is a TTB* car that only allows for slight modification. This should keep costs down and also allow me to drive it to the track. Others have told me to jump into a used T1 car right away because of the upgrades and safety features. Any thoughts from some experts would be appreciated.

I would post a similar question in the southeast section where the c5 mafioso hang out mostly.

I'd love to have another "not quite there yet" TTA car to chase. The other guys just blow by me at lap 3

So, I have done several track days "renting" a C5Z (and a SM)...I have some limited racing experience in an MX5 and had an SCCA racing license through Skippy. I am ready to buy my own car mostly for HPDE and move up to Time Trials at a later date. I like the C5 which has good support in Atlanta. I know that I am not fast (yet) and can not compete at the TTA level until I log many more miles of track time. I noticed that a base C5 is a TTB* car that only allows for slight modification. This should keep costs down and also allow me to drive it to the track. Others have told me to jump into a used T1 car right away because of the upgrades and safety features. Any thoughts from some experts would be appreciated.

A well sorted TTB C5 would be awesome. I can build one for less than $15k.

Let me know if you're interested.

Let Scott build it.

245 A6s, will give you 5 pts to play with.

Put on stiff leafs and Penskes.

Or at least C5Z shocks springs to get started. It will be way easier to drive than the base model setup.