nooby checking in

Fr3AkAzOiD

Just wanted to say hi.

I'll be lurking around sucking up as much info as possible from the forums.

Just got the wife a new car and they wouldn't offer me squat for her old one as a trade in so I'm keeping it and I figured I'd try it in a HPDE. It's an '05 Chevy Malibu V6 auto. :\

As it's my first time out I'm not looking to put up much money. Figured instead of buying a helmet I can rent one for $75 from racesuitrental.com. Has anyone had any experience with them or can offer any alternatives?

I'm going to flush the radiator and change my brake fluid and make sure I get the car inspected before hand but should have enough in the pads for a single day out.

I've been doing indoor kart racing for a number of years but I doubt much other then finding racing lines and knowing when to pass will translate over to a HPDE.

It's hard for me to get weekends off work but there is a weekday HPDE in August at VIR.

Been running VIR with a Jetta TDI on iRacing to get a hang of the layout. Though I'm not sure if that will help or hurt me once I get to the actual track.

I have a feeling I'm going to get hooked on HPDE days though.

• 4 weeks later...

I need some opinions on what to do.

First time HPDE (end of August), should I do one day knowing I'll kill my brakes and rotors. They are fine for a single day but two days and I may end up replacing them in the hotel parking lot prior to driving home.

Then if I get hooked just go into my second HPDE event (which may not be till next season) with fresh upgraded brake rotors and pads.

OR

Pay a bit extra so I can go into the first event with better brakes and then pay the bit extra for two days vs one on the track.

It's very much a pay me now or pay me later, either way you are going to pay scenario.

I just hear how people are saying they are wiped after their first weekend HPDE and figured it may be worth just doing it as a one day thing.