The modified 13/13 (or lack thereof) in action

JSG1901

NOTE: I have edited this yet again and removed any references to actual on-track events as they are not needed to make my point and their inclusion has caused concern among the community. At the end of the day it was a poor decision on my part to have included that information in the first place and I apologize to those affected. The first round of beers are on me. -- Scott Good, 19 May 2012

There has been a lot of talk both here and elsewhere about contact in GTS as opposed to contact in PCA or BMWCCA or other organizations, particularly with regard to the 13/13 rule. I'd like to spend a few minutes on this topic.

Like all of us, my perspective comes from my own experience. I currently have four roles with NASA. I'm the GTS National Director, of course, but I'm also the regional GTS Series Director for Great Lakes, one of two Race Directors with Great Lakes, and I'm a driver. So, for whatever reason, I'm in a somewhat unique position with regard to rules like the 13/13.

It's not much of a secret that I am not a big fan of the 13/13 rule, particularly as it is used in organizations like PCA, a group of which I am both very fond and of which I have been a member since I was 15 years old (minus a year or two somewhere in there). So, in other words, I've been a PCA member for 40 years, give or take, and raced with them prior to finding NASA but my loyalty to that organization does not extend to their interpretation of the 13/13 rule.

What I don't like about the 13/13 are several things.