Noob with question about Cayman/GTS - advice wanted

ColoradoHeel

I'm a relative rookie to all of this and would appreciate any suggestions/rec's/advice...

Daily Driver is an '07 911 4S. I've done 3 weekends of HPDE (PPIR, HPR and LaJunta CO), as well as 5 days of open lapping (HPR and PPIR). Instructor commentary/feedback has been very good (moved to solo 1st weekend of HPDE, moved up from Green to Blue on the 3rd weekend). I do not have an inflated view of my abilities, but I trust that my instructors were honest when they told me (independent of one another) that I have a natural instinct for this and a surprisingly good skillset for a greenhorn.

I want to move from HPDE (though continuing to participate in HPDE) to competitive racing. I will be taking an SCCA Road Racing course this Spring/Summer to further my skillset. And I continue to read and digest every racing book I can get my hands on.

My plan is to purchase an '06/'07 Cayman S (in my donor car price range - and a cool car which I enjoy driving - and I am a Porsche addict), and based on my research thus far, the GTS series within NASA is the appropriate racing group. Is that correct? The GTS class will just be determined by HP to weight ratio, right?

I have every expectation that my skillset and equipment (race prepped Cayman S with minimal mods) at the onset will put me toward the back of the pack in any/every race I enter (I assume the other drivers are much more experienced and their cars more finely tuned/prepped). I am okay with that - to win will require lots of seat time, experience, effort and continual tuning/set-up adjustment of the car.