Stance on Harness Bars?

darreng505

Hi,

What is NASA's stance on the use of bolt in "harness bars" (for HPDE) that allow cars with (appropriate) factory or aftermarket seats to use 5 point harnesses?

I'm interested in instructor's point of view on this as well.

thanks.

PS. I read the CCR and it doesn't explicitly address the use of only a harness bar.

I'm not an instructor but lots of folks use harness bars and 5/6 points with a good seat in DE. However, don't do it without a hnr

Or at least some sort of additional rollover protection.

Nothing against it in the rules and it is down to the individual instructor to let you know if he/she is comfortable with your safety.

Some organizations other than NASA have rules against it, so keep that in mind if you decide to use a harness bar and harnesses without rollover protection.

Since you asked, as an instructor I am less than enthused about riding in a car with harnesses, a harness bar, and no rollbar or cage. I would rather take my chances with the OEM 3pt system allowing me to rotate my body forward and downward against the shoulder belt in a rollover versus keeping my body upright and my head and neck being the only thing allowed to move.

In either situation, I wear a Simpson Safety Solutions R3 so my concerns are not from a head and neck restraint situation in a crash, but in what my body is allowed to do in a rollover situation.

• 2 weeks later...

There are some bad stories on the internet about low quality Chinese harness bars failing catastrophically with some pretty sad outcomes. Just make sure to get a good one and ensure it isn't a knock off. And to second what was said by the instructor above, rollbars are our friend. I was in a rollover accident on a public roadway once and had the roof come in 12 inches and smash me down into the seat. I wish I had a rollbar then - a padded rollbar that wouldn't crack my melon open.

• 2 weeks later...