New drive wanting to race

Scubasteve

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to track racing and need to get some info. I have done many auto x events and love every minute of it but I've always wanted more. I currently drive a 2012 Subaru wrx hatchback. The car is bone stock besides a short shifter. I have a dot approved helmet and am just trying to get as much info before I take the first jump.

My first event will be Sebring next month. Anyone have suggestions or ideas for anything I need to do for my car. The car has 12000 miles on it will a fresh oil change.

Welcome!

Make sure you have good tread on your tires, that you have plenty of brake pad left, and that the brake fluid looks good. All that should be fine for such a new car, but you should double check, or have someone do so - when you get your pre-tech inspection done, if not sooner.

DOT helmets don't necessarily pass. Check for the Snell sticker inside, under the liner. That's what the tech inspectors and instructors look for.

HPDE isn't racing. Go into it with an open mind, relax, listen carefully to your instructor and don't be afraid to ask questions.

All the articles at the bottom of the page here are great: http://www.drivenasafl.com/driving/hpde/

Hope it helps, and see you at Sebring,

I assume your taking HPDE1 since you've never been on track (other than autoX). I too started going in my street car and found there are some things you need to change for open tracking your car......brakes, brakes, brakes!!! My stock Brembo's (SRT8) just couldn't handle the stress. Get GOOD brake fluid (one example: wilwood EXP), spare rotors for racing, and good pads. Everything else about a street car will do fine when you get started. I nearly lost the car my first weekend when the vrakes got soft and a buddy came a year later and tore the passenger side of his car up when his failed.