Q's about modifying the cage in my C5 vette - tall driver

moespeeds

Hi guys, I'm trying to make some modifications to the cage in my C5 FRC to fit my 6'3" frame. Apparently the guy this cage was built for was much shorter. It looks like they originally built this thing under the main hoop/B pillar, then later cut it out. I need to get this sucker up higher, as you can see in the pictures I'm not even close. My intention is to use a combination of raising the cage, and lowering the seat/mounts to get the room I need. I am an experienced fabricator and welder, though this is my first car cage.

Barely 1/2" between my helmet and the upper plane of the cage.

20130605_195307.jpg

First off I'd like to raise the forward most attach points a full inch. I can build plinth boxes to set them on, but I only have about 1/2" until I hit the A-pillar/windshield frame. Am I permitted to trim the bottom side of the A-pillar to make the clearance I need?

20130605_202019.jpg

20130605_202011.jpg

Secondly, am I permitted to build 1" plinth boxes under the rearmost attach points, or would I have to install new downtubes? I don't see anything in the rules against this, but want to make sure.

Also, I slid the cage as far towards the driver's side as possible to make more room between the side of my head and the side hoop. I foolishly notched the sheet metal in the lower part of the b pillar, not realizing that this is against the rules. While you are allowed to penetrate this area, it states that you cannot notch it. So what to do? Can I weld a patch over the open portion of the notch? This would return the lost strength.

See the notch at the lower nascar bar:

20130605_195123.jpg