Back from the track.

Taxman

Took my new SpecZ out to the track yesterday and I had a great time. These cars are a blast to drive! I do have some thoughts & questions that I would appreciate feedback on.

1) It is great to have some power!! I've been racing Spec Miata for 10 years and the most RWHP I've had is right around 120. The 250 or so I have now makes me feel like a god.

2) Did you know if you hit the throttle to soon in a corner you can actually spin a car?!? This isn't something I experienced much in (or EVER) in my Miata. The throttle was almost an on/off switch. It took me a bit to figure out I couldn't do that!

3) My car was really hard to get on the trailer! I ended up having to remove the NISMO front end just to load & unload. Not a big deal by itself, but in my haste to leave home the distraction of the loading delay contributed to my leaving some equipment at home (like a tire pressure gauge). So... I did drive the entire day without knowing my tire pressures. The car didn't suck so I am assuming Scott had the correct pressures in the tires.

4) I wasn't on R1s, but ran on some Hankooks that were on the car. I have always enjoyed driving on good street tires as a change from R compound, and these were solid tires!

A couple of issues....

1) Brakes - I was having a very soft pedal after a couple of laps and I intitally thought it was fade. However now I think it was pad knockback. Is that common? If so, how do you handle? Because...

2) Does the throttle shut off when you touch the brake pedal? I was tapping the brakes (left foot) before each hard braking zone and if felt like the engine would cut out. Is that correct? If so, can we turn it off (legally)?