Moving from DE 3 to DE 4/TT

wera44

Is there a set number of weekends I must do to go into group 4 or TT? I have only done 4 weekends in the car but I have 10 years of road racing motorcycle experience. I like doing the track days and I'm learning a lot but I'm miss the competition and want to try TT then move into a spec class. I have 1 weekend in DE 1, 2 weekends in DE 2 and I just did the Road A weekend in DE 3. Since 4 sessions of the 8 are already mixed with DE 4 I don't really see it as a huge jump. Can I just get a checkout ride/follow at my next event to move? I'm not looking to jump ahead of myself here but I'm just looking forward to competing. Opinions welcome.

Thanks

Jason

There is no "set number" of weekends required before moving up to the next level. It all depends on the driver, their skills & their knowledge of the club's rules.

Even though they were combined DE3 & DE4 run grps, they were run under DE3 rules which are passing anywhere but ONLY with a point-by. I know not everyone abides by that set of rules but that's supposed to be how it's done. DE4 has open passing anywhere with no point-by necessary, so it is quite a jump in that respect as situational awareness has to be that much higher.

While you might have many years of competition experience, it might be worth your while to drive in DE3 for at least one more event so you can learn the rules NASA-SE runs with. I'd also recommend going over the CCR to familiarize yourself with the set of rules NASA runs under. If you think you're ready for it, get yourself a yellow #4 for the back of your car & run in DE3 with it to see how you do.

If you want to pursue the TT angle, get in touch with Jeff England, TT Director, who will give you a check ride to see if he'll allow you to obtain a TT license.