First time tracking a car.. Needed some advice- Mustang GT

neel134

Hi, I drive a stock 2014 Mustang GT, 5.0L.

I will be doing an HPDE for the first time. I intend to drive it stock and not make any aftermarket upgrades. I believe these cars would be built in a way to handle track conditions to some extent.

However do I need to make any engine oil, or brake oil changes before tracking it? Any small precautionary changes needed which don't require a major overhaul? I am looking for a very modest budget. Any kind of advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Detailed suggestions would be even more helpful. I am a novice.

Thanks

Neel

I treat brakes as safety equipment so I always try and do at least a mild upgrade to make sure I have enough fade resistance for anything that I drive that will see track time.

Pads

Fluid

I'll leave it to those that track something that's a similar platform to make specific parts recommendations though. Brakes are such a funny thing, what may be a great pad for one particular make/model may be garbage on another. So many variables go into it.

Other than that I'd just make sure the car is in good, safe, and sound operating condition. No need for super fancy tires or suspension upgrades or anything just yet.

For a mustang even for your 1st time brake cooling is needed. What brakes do you have on the car the brembos or the stock GTs.

Change your brake fluid to somiething like a Motul 600.

Brake fluid and pads (and cheap rotors just to use with those pads would be best). I used to track my SRT8 and put Wilwood EXP brake fluid in it........ive since bought a racecar and the SRT8 hasn't been on the track in nearly 3 years but that fluid is still in the car.

Tires, suspension, etc only make you faster when what you really need to worry about is learning to drive whatever you have fast SAFELY.