I have some track day/racing experience, HPDE 1?

kilroy

I'd like to get my NASA license and compete in AI eventually.

I've done a dozen or so track days and 3 crapcan races. Nothing spectacular and nothing with NASA.

I've signed up for the Autoclub speedway event in may. I understand that at HPDE 1 you have an instructor onboard for half a day, and the same for HPDE 2? If that's true, then there is an advantage to that obviously.

How formal is the advancement process? Can my instructor also give me a check ride, and bump me up same day? Start Sunday at HPDE 2 and check ride for 3 that same day as well?

• 2 weeks later...
I'd like to get my NASA license and compete in AI eventually.

I've done a dozen or so track days and 3 crapcan races. Nothing spectacular and nothing with NASA.

I've signed up for the Autoclub speedway event in may. I understand that at HPDE 1 you have an instructor onboard for half a day, and the same for HPDE 2? If that's true, then there is an advantage to that obviously.

How formal is the advancement process? Can my instructor also give me a check ride, and bump me up same day? Start Sunday at HPDE 2 and check ride for 3 that same day as well?

Why the hurry to move up? You get so much more with instruction in HPDE1 and at the end of the day most the guys in 1 are going as fast or faster then the guys in 2.

I understand wanting to race as quickly as possible. But learning to drive and handling a car, as well as knowing when things are not right and pulling off in the best areas are far more important then just driving fast.

If you are already good at all those things. Your instructors will let you know. But most, not all, guys that come in wanting to push through. Need to slow down to go faster.