Sacramento Area HPDE Folks?

BlueMach1

I am very interested in learning more about HPDE and was hoping that I could find some Sacramento area locals that wouldn't mind discussing with me and possibly looking at their setups. I am located in Cameron Park, CA.

My taste in cars is pretty agnostic. I have owned 1968 LeMans (GTO Clone), 1972 Corvette Stingray, 1970 Mach 1, 1986 944 Turbo, 2001 Camaro SS SLP and I currently own a 2001 M5.

I am a decent mechanic.

For HPDE I am considering a 4th generation 2000 - 2004 Mustang GT, C5 2000 - 2004 Corvette or maybe a 350Z.

Mustang is probably at the top of the list as it is by far the cheapest entry, parts are super plentiful and cheap and they are easy to work on. Lots of beaters on CL but maybe a diamond in the rough here and there. I know that these are not necessarily the best choice due to handling and lots of cash can be spent in that area alone. But, if I get hooked and set it up right, maybe go on to CMC?

Corvette is another fairly cheap entry and parts are still pretty cheap. Also easy to work on. Benefit is that its suspension is way better to start with then the Mustang. But it is a big car. Not sure what class is next for this if I decide to graduate on.

350Z is completely unknown to me. I like the way they look and I do know that it will handle very well. I get a sense that, generally, parts are cheap enough. However, if the engine lets loose, it will be a learning experience as I have never been inside of one of those. Whereas with a 4.6 or LS engine are extremely plentiful and cheap if I just want swap out.

I don't want a Miata, 944 or BMW.

Anyway, that's sort of my intro. Would really like to hear from some locals if you are out there. Especially if you are running one of the cars I am looking considering.

Thanks!

• 4 months later...