ST5 Rules Clarification

Bostonbq

Hi There,

I am relatively new to NASA and am beginning to plan my build for the upcoming nationals. In doing so I have some questions about the ST5 rules that are laid out. First are the aero rules, and I just want to make sure I get this right:

·       With BTM aero rules I’m allowed +.4 but have to run stock aero, (no stock wing, etc.)

·       Single Flat Splitter is -.5

·       However, I could run a wing and air dam with no modification factor either way?

Second is the A-arm or Wishbone suspension rule. Is there any way you may be able to define this for me? There isn’t much of an explanation so I’m hoping for some form of clarification. My stock e30 daily technically has rear lower A-arm control arms so in this case all e30’s have to take a -.7 hit? I’m not building an e30, I’m just trying to wrap my head around this and using it as an example. If you have an A-arm set up currently, are you allowed to somehow convert to an alternate non A-arm/wishbone design? By A-arm/Wishbone, do you mean any control arm with a curve making the shape of an A no matter how wide or narrow? Basically, two mounting points to the vehicle and a single mounting point to the hub?

I appreciate the help.  

Edited by Bostonbq

• Administrators
On 2/6/2019 at 9:26 PM, Bostonbq said:

Hi There,

I am relatively new to NASA and am beginning to plan my build for the upcoming nationals. In doing so I have some questions about the ST5 rules that are laid out. First are the aero rules, and I just want to make sure I get this right:

·       With BTM aero rules I’m allowed +.4 but have to run stock aero, (no stock wing, etc.)

·       Single Flat Splitter is -.5

·       However, I could run a wing and air dam with no modification factor either way?