Race seat with no roll cage question

fast_frank_d

All,,

I know this topic has been discussed many times, but my dense brain still cannot get it straight! The rule just isn't clear to me in the NASA CCR.

I am an HPDE/TT driver. If I install a fixed back racing seat that is NOT FIA approved and NO roll bar, do I need a seat back brace?

Thanks!

Frank D.

No, you won't need a seat back brace. You'll need a plot at a cemetary and a life insurance policy so your wife and kids won't go broke when you're dead.

A fixed-back seat with no roll cage sounds like trouble to me. I'm not an offiical, so I can't comment "officially."

Not sure where you'd install the seat back brace anyway--they usually attach TO THE ROLL BAR and to the seat back.

Sorry to be brash, but why install the seat?

With all due respect, I mean not to upset anyone but in my humble opinion some topics can be considered sacrilegious and speaking of cemetery plots, wife's and kids and insurance is a step over the line amongst racers. I know you meant no harm but there are some of us here whom have lost both friends and loved ones while doing what they loved most. While a topic on such subject may be appropriate under certain conditions, the lack of such may seem even more appropriate.

In the same breath, I have to agree with the input of not installing something when there is no way to properly affix it. Not too long ago many of us saw a racer from another group bring a high-dollar car to Sears Point and because the driver's seat was not installed properly it almost resulted in a loss of life. All too often items that are installed into a car to "look cool" can in fact be considerably more dangerous that in this case the stock seat.

Best regards, Gary Faules

No, you won't need a seat back brace. You'll need a plot at a cemetary and a life insurance policy so your wife and kids won't go broke when you're dead.

Couldn't have put it better my self.