Emissions Test

Trevor Myrus

Hello All,

I took the 944 in today for an Emissions test and didn't pass, Therefore I need some assistance.

My Car: Applicable Standards

Hydrocarbons 1.30 1.60

Carbon Monoxide 11.26 15.00

Oxides of Nitrogen 2.83 2.50

Your help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Trevor Myrus

1988 944

?????????????

Sorry,buddy. I'm not ignoring you. I'm just a driver. It looks like only the one category was high. Couldn't the shop testing tell you what the problem was. Bad O2 sensor, bad cat, etc?

Unfortunately the shop couldn't tell me, they only said "well, it could be a number of things"..... No Kidding.... Duh! and yes only high in one catagory. Thankfully..

Thanks for the reply though Tim.

Trevor Myrus

1988 944

Ok...

What has been done to the car.. IE non-stock engine stuff?

Chip? You do still have the Cat in place right. Running pump 87 or 91 right.

Oh you had the Cat good and hot right? Left it idling the entire time at station? My Stock Turbo S failed after I shut off the motor and let the cat cool.

O2 sensor could be bad. This often cause poor gas mileage also. Are your injectors clean? You have been driving the car so that should not be an issue. Do you have all vacuum line routed correctly?

There is PCA DE this weekend at the East track (4/17)

A PCA autocross 4/24 and Also 5/8.

I'll be at all of them. Without the spec car however.

The car is stock, no mod's except for 220# springs upfront and Bilstien struts. Vacuum lines are correct and intact. The car at idle when sitting at the station. 87 octane. Cat still there and original (I think).

Trevor Myrus

1988 944

Well the issue of Emissions is corrected. Turns out the Previous owner(s)

had an aftermarket exhaust system installed. There is something to be said for OE things. Just wanted to let everyone know who responded to my post. Thanks guys.

Trevor Myrus

1988 944

?????????????