The Ladder to Competition Racing

superspec15

Hey guys uber noob here!

I have been researching NASA for a while now and I attended my first HPDE event last weekend. I caught the bug. I am very intrested in moving up the ladder all the way to competition racing. I know its a long way away but I wanted to get some input on what others have done; how you guys made it to comp racing. I have looked around on the forums and read some posts where some guys buy a car like a miata or e30 and slowly build it up to spec as they move up groups in HPDE. Any feed back would be great! thanks!

Buying a car for a spec class is a good idea. Go up through the levels of HPDE in 1.5 to 2 season, then maybe move on to TT, all the while making the car less streetable and better for the track. Once you get bored with TT, gut it, add saftey gear and make it a Wheel to Wheel car. Build the car for a class, Spec Focus, H4 Honda challenge, CMC, whatever, have fun. I've been around grassroots motorsports for a little over 2 yrs and did my first event less than a month ago, but I've done plenty of dreaming since then.

Note: all ideas come from the mind of a 16 yr old with bottomless pockets.

I started out in 02 in HPDE1 with a mostly stock mustang, had some suspension stuff done to it. Over the years progressed up to HPDE3 while adding roll bars, seats, harnesses, removed bits of the interior here and there, upgraded brakes, put on a hitch so I could tow my R compound tires to the track, etc. Then bought a truck, trailer so I could do all the brake pad/rotor/tire swapping in the garage and tow the car to the track. Then had a minor incident in 05 with a guardrail at the last event of the season (not NASA). After that the car got gutted and a cage put in, then I took comp school at VIR and started racing American Iron last year. Now that they have the TT program that is an excellent place to go from HPDE3 to get a taste of competition.