brake fluid & pads...what brand do you use?

malibuguy

This is gonna be for my daily driver '79 Malibu, that i'm going to do a few brake & suspension upgrades to prepare it to eventully run in HPDE, & also make the DD life a little safer & enjoyable.

I'm pretty much set on getting SP Performance slotted rotors, Russel braided lines (i'm so happy with these lines on my other Malibu), Speed Bleeders, as well as fresh rear brakes/hardware/wheel cylinders...undecided on turning the original drums, or just get new ones. The master cylinder was already replaced before i bought the car, & i'm thinking about getting fresh calipers.

I want to flush out & replace the brake fluid...what would ya'll suggest? I run DOT4 in the other Malibu, but i wanna change that out too (eventully).

I was considering Motul, or ATE fluid, but i have no experience with either of them.

Now brake pads...I've run Hawks in my other Malibu before, i forget what line they where, but i liked them. My friend suggested EBC pads...this is a 3400lbs car people, so keep that in consideration.

anyways, thanks in advance

Not sure about street pads, but have a seperate set of rotors and pads for the track. There's just no comparison and any crossover pad is a compromise that won't tolerate a 3400lb car, especially if you're still running the stock iron calipers up front. I've never heard anything good about EBC pads on a heavy car, go with Hawk, Porterfield, Carbotech, etc.

Slotted rotors are just a dress-up item, go buy Autozone rotors with the long warrenty so you can return them when you burn them up. Their stock rotors worked fine for me. Fresh calipers aren't a bad idea, at least the bleeder screws won't be rusted, but you'll probably burn the dust seals off with race pads so get the long warranty on those too. Speed Bleeders are just extra money unless you have no friends. Anyone who has two brain cells to rub together can help you bleed brakes.