Need Info on a rotary engine?

Brian L.

• Members

I have a friend who is thinking of giving me her 2nd gen rx7. It has some problems and she just wants to get rid of it and get a new car. I have no experience with rotary engines so all you rx7 guys out there give me a hand...

Question 1: It starts smoking pretty bad when you rev it up around 5,000 rpm. I have heard rx7's smoke but I don't see them smoking that much. Is there something that goes out in the motor (like the equivelent to rings) that would make it do this? It the motor gone?

Question 2: It has been overheated pretty bad I am assuming because the it was a girl driving the car and she just drove it untill it stopped running. Not sure if it is just low fluid/thermostat/water pump because I have not looked at the car. How do those engines handle overheating?

Should I not put any money into this car. Or can I just fill up the fluid and get a free car out of it? Thanks for the info.

I'll have to agree with mikeski38. It's all too likely that the overheating compromised the side or apex seals. Those are the things that more or less act like rings in a piston engine, and they're very susceptible to overheating. Replacing them requires a full tear down of the engine, which can get expensive. A remanned engine is likely to run you $3k and up, depending on what you have done to it. If she's giving it to you free, why not take it? Just keep in mind you're likely to have at least a couple thousand in it before it's a reliable runner.

If its overheated and smoking, the apex seals are shot, rotor housings are warped, and something wrong with the oil injection pump.

If you want to put a new motor in it, it would be a fun car.....

ISC wants 3500 for an ITS prepped 13B. I don't know what you'd have to pay for a remanned stock 13B. SDJ also rebuilds rotary engines for SCCA use, but his web site doesn't list prices.

• 1 month later...