Classing a Panoz GTRA? ST2?

Cobra4B

My father and I picked up an ex Panoz driving school car. It's a Panoz GTRA custom painted as a Penske promotional car (has stupid koni coil-overs though haha vs. the GTS' penskes).

I've been running HPDEs for 5 years in my Z06 and have recently retired it to be a waxer. In fact, I cut the roof off and am repainting it, but that's off topic.

We got the GTRA as a fun track rat for HPDE and possibly TTs. However, a few of my Corvette buddies are now running ST2 and having a blast.

Curious how this Panoz would class out? I hear replica Cobras run in ST2 and this has a similar layout/construction. This model has a 250 crank hp 5.0 and weighs around 2500lbs.

04ac_121.jpg

they're is a conversion factor for it to classify it into ST1 or ST2 (which are the same as TTU and TTS respectively)

it'll all depend on actual WHP, competition weight, which tires and sizes you're going to run as to if it'll map into ST1 or ST2, but we can walk you through that process

• National Staff

The Panoz GTRA may be used on ST2 using the same -0.2 modification factor that was given to the Panoz GTS. However, I am in the process of classing the '97-'99 Panoz GTRA (5.0L) into a lower level PT/TT class.

FFRs are tube frame but get a "correction factor pass" just like the Panoz, Lotus7 clones, etc

might be worth clarifying how one would go about getting that for a certain car

The Panoz GTRA may be used on ST2 using the same -0.2 modification factor that was given to the Panoz GTS. However, I am in the process of classing the '97-'99 Panoz GTRA (5.0L) into a lower level PT/TT class.

Cool... keep me updated. The car would need more power to run in ST2 for sure, so a lower level might be a good start for me.

• National Staff

http://www.nasaforums.com/viewtopic.php?p=129943#129943