Newbie here, with the first of many questions...

Duo

Hello all, I hope to attend my first HPDE class very soon and am starting to look into racing the H4 class in the MWHC. But first things first, I need a car.

I planned on racing a EG6 Si, taking advantage of the D16Z6...however, I'm having a hard time finding an Si that hasn't had the engine ripped out and replaced with a B16, B18, etc. Aside from having to deal with someone elses possible shoddy workmanship, I'd like to avoid the standard sunroof from the Si shell.

So, here's my question...can a D16Z6 from an Si be dropped into a CX/DX shell and still qualify for H4. From what I understand after reading the rules, this would be acceptable, but I'd like to have some outside confirmation on this. Also, is the engine swap alone okay? Or can brakes, etc from the Si be transferred over?

Basically, I'm not going to start out thinking about winning races. I just want to get in fairly cheap and see how I like it and if I have what it takes. A DX/CX will be easy to find and less costly, plus D16Z6 engines are fairly plentiful.

Any help you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated

Thanks all, and good luck this season.

You can transfer everything from the SI body to a Dx Body. And still be legal but you still have to meet the minimum weight for that class. and MAX ballast is 150LBS.

Check out the "Chassis Swap" section of the rules. As long as your combination of body, tranny, engine, brakes, etc. was sold in the US, you are golden. But remember, you have to swap EVERYTHING. No halvsies.

Why don't you get an Si with a B and then swap back in the D? It might save time of having to swap everything and give you a good chance to go through all the engine wiring and make sure it is up snuff, instead of just hoping that it is. And then you don't have to deal with any of the swap rules technicalities, since you'll have the stock chassis and engine that came with it. Sell the B for some extra cash.