b20 Vtec Allowed?

350_dollar_hatch

Can I make a CRVTEC for the Honda Challenge? The Rules say the block must have only Genuine Honda parts. The bottom end would have only stock b20 parts. The top end however for any block according to my understanding of the rules, is mostly free. The only restrictions I read were on the manifold which has to be stock (type r would be legal?) and Throttle Body. Since the head is oem and the regulations are mostly free, I should be allowed to add a b16 VTEC head correct? I would also not be breaking the Displacement rule, as I would be .4 liters under.

Maybe someone could tell me that I'm right or wrong in all my assumptions. And if I'm wrong, I humbly request someone telling me why, as I am new to HC, Building Racecars, and racing in organized events other than a couple of Auto-xes and Drag.

It will probably take me about a year to two years to build my car as I'm also building my daily driver 240sx, but I can get everything to get a standard b20 in my hatch for 1100 and I don't wanna pass it up if I don't have to. Also a b20 by itself should be ok for auto-x.

As far as I understand the rules, I think the setup you've laid out is perfectly legal, but there are a couple things that you should consider. Stock pistons is a very limiting factor. The highest compression pistons offered in the B20 bottom end were 9.6:1. You can help this a little by going with a GSR head which I've been told brings the compression ratio to closer to 10:1 and higher compression valves might get you another .3 or so, but when you do this, you have to have the pistons cut for valve clearance. Plus, if I remember correctly, the rod/stroke ratio of a B20 is not very good for high revving, which is where the VTEC head is gonna give you all of your power. Anyway, just things to think about.