2005 rules- fiberglass hatch/trunk

trackboss

I have been asking for this going on 3 years now and always been turned down. My main reason is that these are cheap and the originals are no longer available from Ford. They are part of the aftermarket which is a part of this series intent as well. I have been told in the past that I can get a used one from so and so for next to nothing. Well, it is still much less expensive for me to make a 3 minute phone call to a company like jegs and have one at my doorstep in a week for under $500. I am not willing to drive out to some boneyard or several hundred miles to find one. It is just a waste of time. Some of these cars are getting old and some of the parts are not available new. In addition, if you get one of these from a quality manufacturer, like harwood, they look completely original and require almost no prep. work to paint. A used one would cost more to paint than one of these. Also, they save a significant amount of weight and along those lines are much less of a danger for coming loose from the car in an accident. Your thoughts.

No one will ever convince me that it is fair to keep this part out of AI. It is simply a stock replacement part which happens to be currently available and made of ‘glass as well as affordable, unlike the original part. We can go out and build cars with $10k+ worth of suspension and brakes as well as motors that cost the same or more yet we cannot install a stock replacement hatch because our current one may be damaged or destroyed simply because it is not made of steel. This is downright stupid. If it was only about lightweight then one could remove a whole lot of material from the factory piece and do that.

Guys-