Opinion on Stock C6Z06

codeblack

I'm new to the nasa forum and have run in a few HPDE's this past year, groups 1 and 2. I currently have a stock C6Z06 corvette and want to get the opinion of the instructors as to whether I should up grade the rotors and pads or leave it stock. What would be a good combination for the track? I've looked at single piece rotors from DBA and two piece rotors from Coleman. Also, any feed back on Colbalt GTS pads. I'm currently using Castrol SRF fluid. Thanks

Aftermarket pads that are specifically designed for track use will always perform better and last longer than the stock pads. While stock Z06 pads will likely be more aggressive than the ones that come on a Monte Carlo, they are still a compromise between low dust, cold performance, etc.

If you mainly drive the car on the street, then you should think about having a separate set of pads and rotors for HPDE use. From what I have been told, big-dollar cross-drilled and/or slotted rotors don't have an appreciable advantage over normal rotors, and you don't have the option of resurfacing drilled or slotted rotors (not that I would do that anyway, as you want more material to absorb heat). Many of the racers that I know (as well as myself) only use normal rotors, although we just buy the el cheapo "white box" rotors from the local parts store and replace them every time (or every other time) we get new pads. If we went through several $200+ pairs of rotors every year, then we'd be heading to the poorhouse even quicker. But, if you have money to set on fire, then go for it.

Mark

Thanks for the input. I've been searching for plan faced rotors but I only found fronts made by centric and the price is right. I'll keep searching. Thanks