First Timer at Buttonwillow on 27th

banderaz

Hello everyone, I'm new to NASA and I have just registered for my first HPDE event.

I was trying to pull out some information from NASA's website regarding the event I'm going to, but a lot of the links are temporary unavailable. I was hoping I could get some answers here.

1) I need a tech inspection check list and recommended items to bring with me.

2) I cannot find a schedule for the event I'm going to. What time should I show up, when is inspection / briefing etc... Could anyone post up a link please?

3) Anyone coming from San Jose / Bay Area? Maybe we could caravan together to make that 3 hours drive a bit more exciting?

Thank you in Advance!

Hello banderaz and welcome to NASA.

Here are brief highlights.

1) Show up by 7AM to get tech'd.

2) Driver's meeting by 7:45.

3) You'll be alternating on track and in the classroom throughout the day.

4) This is in no way an exhaustive tech form but the things that would keep you from passing tech include but are not limited to major leaks, absence of brake lights, bad wheel bearings, absence of seat belts, a significant instability like a badly worn suspension bushing or similar.

5) Bring lots of water and salty snacks -- you need to stay hydrated and keep the electrolyte balance for your and everybody else's safety. The brain can't make life and death decisions in 250 mS if it is sluggish from dehydration. Unless you're in a race car or a car that's marginally intact, you won't need a lot of tools. Bring layered clothing -- could be hot or cold.

Find me in the pits and don't hesitate to ask if you need anything.

God be with you.

Hello Baderaz;

We are coming from the Santa Cruz area. However we do not know what our plans are as of yet, so no idea about the caravanning.