merkur xr4ti

pyropete125

is anybody going to or has run one?

I have an 89 xr4ti and am thinking about making it a track only car. i am not sure what direction I'd like to go with one of my XR4Ti's. It is a extremely solid car with no rot at all. It has an 8.8 IRS already, firewall cut out and set back 4", a t-56, etc, and I am thinking of making it a track only car. If I did that I would like to see what I could or could not do in whatever class so I didn't end up in a class with $200+K cars. I was also looking to see if it qualifies for any sort of vintage racing class. I am also looking for a 'fun' sort of class. I have rad that a lot of vintage guys 'drive' their cars at events rather than really being aggressive.

I did skip barbers school at limerock and I did new england lemons this past summer [11th out of 65+ teams Smile], which both were just AWESOME. It is actually a bit scary that some people who are hosting a track even will let just complete novices on a track with other people. I mean I just have this SFI 3.2 A5 suit and SA2005 helmet just sitting here waiting to be used

I have been trying to figure out what an XR4Ti could be a little competitive in. SCCA? NASA? or something else?

I would like to do some track events, like limerock or watkins glenn, not really autoX, but I would probably end up in a few I'm sure. This is not something I would really travel to campaign or anything.

The motor itself I can change. I have a few in various states and HP. I have a few of these cars and one currently with a ford 2.3L block with a volvo 16v b234f cylinder head modified to run

would that qualify under these rules? I am located in CT.

thanks all,

pete

Oh yes. At least 3-4 drivers of Merkur's came out of the woodwork who were driving or building Merkur's when we accidentally left it off the approved marque list. If you don't hear anything soon, let me know and I'll see if I can dredge up contact info. Do a search here, you might find them that way.