Newbie questions

kbyrd

I'm a total newbie at this. I'm doing the HDPE event in at Infineon/Sear's point on Jan 22nd. This is my first event of this kind. I'm driving a new Volkswagen GTI that's also my daily driver.

I've read the rules and have some idea about how the actual track time works. I know I need a helmet. However, I have a few questions about how things work at the event overall.

- What should I bring/how much room do I have in the paddock? I don't have a tent of any kind, but I'll bring a lawn chair or something. I've read that I should clean out everything not bolted down, but will I have a place to store things while I'm on the track? I was planning on bringing an ice chest or something for food, is there room for that?

- When will I know what number I've been assigned? I was thinking of making some magnetic signs, but I would need to know the numbers ahead of time. Should I just bring tape? I assume I'll have time to put it on and do some other prep before the first run, right?

- Do people usually tape up headlights and such? I've seen "helicopter tape" to protect the leading edges of the car, does it work? Is it worth it? Do people have other recommendations for protecting the paint? I understand it's a track and we're going fast and there are no guarantees, what do others do? Should I just get over it and drive?

- Where does everyone gas up? I'm driving the car to the event, is there a station close to but outside the track? I assume it'll be cheaper than the track gas. I don't think 100 octane will help my stock engine, even if it is a turbo, right?

- What else will I likely need to pay for at the track? Is a credit card OK, or is only cash accepted?

Thanks for your answers,

KB

Welcome and get ready for the time of your life! I am in the Northeastern part of the US, I have never been to Infineon, also, all regions run their programs slightly differently. But I can help you out a bit.