NEW TO HONDA CHALLENGE TIRE QUESTION

FASTSR240

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Honda Challenge this year and I have some questions I hope you can help me with. I ran some Nasa events and SCCA events in 2003 in a Nissan 240SX but now I have an 89 CRX Si.

What is the hot tire and wheel Set up for these cars? It currently has 185/60/14's on it but I would like to go to 15" if possible. I am thinking 205/50/15 but I am not sure if that is legal for that car in H4?

I am running in the midwest region at tracks like Mid-Ohio and Putnam park. If anyone would be gracious enough to offer me ideas on spring rates and sway bar set ups I would greatly apreciate it? A starting point would be great.

Any other trick ideas anyone would be nice enough to offer would be great.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Welcome to Honda Chanllenge ..

In H4 you can run just about any rim, as long as it is no wider than 7". So you will be about to run 205/50/15's if you want to.

In AZ, there are 4 of us that run CRX's. We all run 14 x 7 rims. Mike who has the H1 CRX runs 225/50/14's, so it can be done, but when I ran 225 I was rubbing pretty bad in the rear. My suspension is surely softer than his though. I think all 3 of us in H4 run 205/55/14. Going with 14's gives you a lighter setup and also costs about $80 less for a set of tires. The only drawback that I could see would be sidewall flex, but I haven't really noticed much if any with the 205's. Hope that helps.

- Scott

I actually have a set of 205/55/14's now that I will try. I also have a set of 15" wheels that I will put a 205/50/15 on and I can try and get a feel for which one works better.

Thanks for the input.

• 1 month later...

hey guys, I'm building my '89 CRX for HC and just doing some HPDE's while building. About your tire/wheel selections.... Can you fit the 205/55's on the stock alum wheels? Or are you three running ultra-light, aftermarket, 7-inchers? thx!