NC Miata TT Build

L8apex

Hi all,

I'm new to Time Trials and the board, but I recently purchased a 2006 Miata that I intend to build for track days / TT. I previously drove a 1990 miata roughly prepared as a spec miata, but the NC miata is a whole new experience for me.

My question is, how do people generally spend their points on this miata generation? It starts out with one asterisk, so 7 points right off the bat, which only leaves 12 for mods before jumping into the next class. I thought about running R-compounds and leaving the suspension mostly stock, but I really feel like the suspension should be beefed up in this car, so maybe do a full suspension upgrade (springs, shocks, sways), and run a less-sticky tire?

What are some of your opinions / things that seem to work well for this car?

Thanks and looking forward to getting on-track!

Richard

Do NOT mod your car until you talk to the Mazda guys at the track.

You may already have options on your car that will add points.

Come up with a points and mod plan, go slow and learn to drive it.

Hi all,

I'm new to Time Trials and the board, but I recently purchased a 2006 Miata that I intend to build for track days / TT. I previously drove a 1990 miata roughly prepared as a spec miata, but the NC miata is a whole new experience for me.

My question is, how do people generally spend their points on this miata generation? It starts out with one asterisk, so 7 points right off the bat, which only leaves 12 for mods before jumping into the next class. I thought about running R-compounds and leaving the suspension mostly stock, but I really feel like the suspension should be beefed up in this car, so maybe do a full suspension upgrade (springs, shocks, sways), and run a less-sticky tire?

What are some of your opinions / things that seem to work well for this car?

Thanks and looking forward to getting on-track!

Richard

I've got an 2008 miata street car & a 1995 ITA miata