Sunroofs on TT cars?

McGyver

Many have them and are kept closed but at an event late last year I saw a car on the grid with his S/R partly open. When I saw him after the session I asked about it and he told me it was OK if you are wearing arm restraints or have a window net installed there. Is this true as there is nothing in the CCRs about this?

I was told that TT is run under HPDE safety tech and not under W2W rules that says all sunroofs must be bolted or clamped shut somehow.

Thanks for an answer to this......

McGyver

Thanks, but nothing there to be specific about S/R. I've been TTing for many years and this was the first I saw an open S/R on track. Just would like to know if that is a regional thing or permitted everywhere in NASA.

Why wouldn't you just keep it closed and not worry about anything? If you're going for partly open at an angle, I see that as an aero advantage like the S2k Mugen hardtop. +12

In this case, it would be best to check with your region's registrar about the sunroof policy, since it does not appear in the CCR. As a similar example, I quickly scanned the CCR for mention of the placement of convertible tops, and I did not find anything; however, our region has a separate form that specifically mentions that all convertible tops shall be down.

Now, if an open sunroof is seen as an aero advantage, then this becomes a different discussion.

Mark

Since I run in TTR I'm allowed any aero advantage I can find.

Do I have to go straight to Greg with my question to find the real answer instead of just suggestions?

Since I run in TTR I'm allowed any aero advantage I can find.

Do I have to go straight to Greg with my question to find the real answer instead of just suggestions?

Is your original question one of general HPDE safety or one of TT aerodynamics?

It is always best to go to Greg for TT-related clarifications, as the rest of us do not write the rules.

Mark

• National Staff

From the CCR in the Competition Section: