HPDE

E34525TDS

Hello,

I am new to NASA and I am very interested in attending the next event in March. I was wondering if I have to do the three days of HPDE 1 or is level one one day and then you spend the other two in HPDE 2. I dont know if it is even necessary to go on friday or only sat and sun are enough. Any guidance would be very much apraeciated. Thanks.

Hello and welcome. Which region are you in? Each HPDE level is usually a two-day program, and many people don't progress to the next level in just one weekend (i.e. it may take you a few weekends in HPDE1 to get to HPDE2, and so on.) Fridays - in this region anyway - are not HPDE days, they are instead used for things like racer test & tune, advanced & instructor open practice, instructor clinics, competition licensing schools, and soforth. That is (again in this region specifically) you can't do any of the Friday stuff until you are at least to HPDE3 level. Other regions may be different. Regardless, hope it helps!

Thnx. I am in the SoCal region and was looking at the march 4-6 event and saw only HPDE 1 on friday and SAT and SUN only HPDE 2-4 available. Than i read the definition of the HPDEs and saw 2 said

"You apply what you learned in the Group 1 sessions to get more practice. Group 2 is often mixed with Group 1 and is for those drivers that want some more Group 1 seat-time, but do not need an instructor. "

SO was wondering if 1 is an intro and 2 was the practice?