Street car in TT

steveff4

I've been doing track events (HPDE) for 11 years now, and I'm kicking around the idea of getting involved in TT. I have noticed that most of the TT cars are practically dedicated racers with rollcages, etc. I'd only be running my nearly stock car. I wouldn't even be concerned with being competitive per se, only with having timed laps for my own amusement.

Should I just stick with HPDE since I don't have a caged car?

Can I use some sort of head and neck restraint system with stock 3-point belts?

the only ones that I know of that are advertised to work with 3pt belts are the stuff from Safety Solutions (R3, Hybrid, etc)

Plenty of people run street based stuff in TT, but you're more likely to see those in TTA and below though. I think the rules do a pretty decent job of balacing all "styles" of car to be competitive with each other - it comes down to picking the right car, the right mods for that car, and driving the snot out of it without putting 4 off or spinning

Edited by Guest

dunno about yer region...but from what i've seen, a significant portion of midwest's TT cars are street cars driven to the track. most w/o a cage and alot with some kind of interiors still

Most of our cars, especially TTA-TTF, are driven to the track. We even have a TTU Corvette with a trailer hitch that is driven to the track, while a TTA Evo is a daily driver. While many of them have removed non-essential items from the interiors, very few have roll bars or roll cages (something that I'm encouraging everybody to install, though). With the speeds that our slower-class cars are going, it is wise to install some sort of additional protection in the car, no matter if you are in TT or HPDE; track barriers don't care if you have a transponder in the car or not.

Mark

Maybe I've just been seeing the prepped cars participating in TT. I'm just running street tires, too, so I won't be a concern to the serious competitors.